Weeping Cherries

faith, family, food and frugality

Mason Jar Monday August 10, 2008

Filed under: Mason Jar Monday — Jen @ 10:33 pm
Tags: , , ,

I would like to begin Weeping Cherries’ very first Mason Jar Monday with a use that is very near and dear to my heart. THE SPOON JAR. I would like to extend a plea to all you lovely ladies- Let’s bring back the spoon jar!

I grew up with a spoon jar on the kitchen table and it is a tradition that I was excited to continue on. I need a new connector cord to upload pictures from my camera to the computer, so I was searching online for pictures of a spoon jar that I could post for you and I realized something tragic. It appears that no one knows about spoon jars! After searching and searching, I finally came across a blog that renewed my hope. Di blogs on her website, “Stampin’ With Di“,

“As we were in the kitchen, I opened up a cupboard and I saw “it” and my heart went pitter pat. I said “I want the spoon jar, and the spoons that are in it” now to some this would seem silly, I mean who uses a spoon jar anymore. But this gave me such good memories of eating cereal, soup, ice-cream, and hearing the spoon jingle against the jar as you took it out, it is a special memory to me and I wanted it. I have the spoon that was Granny’s favorite, she always used it.”

Granny’s Spoon Jar posted by Stampin’ With Di

A Spoon Jar creates memories. I have amazing memories of the Spoon Jar growing up and I hope to create memories for Aralyn of the Spoon Jar in our home. On our table sits a large glass jar, which my Mother-in-law found for me, filled with spoons! Teaspoons, Tablespoons, Iced Tea Spoons, and Dessert Spoons… mine face down because I am a freak about germs and people touching the part my mouth touches, but other than that much like Di’s Spoon Jar.

Side Note: Kudos to my Mother-in-law for finding me five awesome mason jars this weekend at a garage sale šŸ™‚

Here is your Mason Jar Monday Assignment #1: Take a large Mason Jar. Decorate it or leave it plain, whatever you chose, and make your own family Spoon Jar. Take Pics, Blog about it and leave your link here. Together, we can bring back the Spoon Jar and make great memories for generations to come!

 

2 Responses to “Mason Jar Monday”

  1. Diana Gibbs Says:

    OMG! Now I am freaking out about the germs! Ha!
    Thanks so much for posting about my Granny’s spoon jar!
    Hugs,
    Di

  2. Mary Riley Says:

    Wow on the spoon jar. My mother had a wooden bucket like thing that she got from her mother that had the spoons in it…i wonder where that went??? Love it…will re-purpose one of my mason jars!!


Leave a Reply

