Weeping Cherries

faith, family, food and frugality

What’s Cookin’ Wednesday October 22, 2008

Filed under: What's Cookin' Wednesday — Jen @ 7:43 am
Tags: ,

Good Morning!  Around noon I am throwing together some beef stew in the crock pot and then cooking up some sweet potatoes about 60 minutes before dinner.  Here is the recipe I pulled from Allrecipes.com:

Candied Sweet Potatoes

  • 2 large sweet potatoes
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  1. In a frying pan, melt the butter and brown sugar together until bubbly. Add the orange juice and stir until smooth. Add the cut-up sweet potatoes and cook slowly, turning occasionally until the sweet potatoes are caramelized, about 20 minutes. If syrup is too thin, add a bit more brown sugar.

Serves 5

What’s cookin’ at your house?

 

2 Responses to “What’s Cookin’ Wednesday”

  1. Nancy Says:

    I am cooking up some stew in the crock pot too! But I’m doing some mashed potatoes… maybe I’ll make scalloped potatoes… I’m not sure… all I know is I have a lot of potatoes that need to get used 🙂
    -Nancy

  2. Jen Says:

    It’s a stew kind of day! I look forward to seeing you tonight at church!


Leave a Reply

