Weeping Cherries

faith, family, food and frugality

A Halloween Dinner and a Plea October 26, 2008

Filed under: Seasons — Jen @ 6:05 pm
Tags: , ,

Last Halloween, my family and I went to dinner at Applebee’s.  Side note: If you have never been to Applebee’s on Halloween- I wouldn’t recommend it.  Our waitress greeted us in a pirate wench costume that left very little to the imagination and as we looked around us, all the other waitresses were dressed in like manner.  One walked by us and exclaimed in a loud voice that she could not keep her skirt covering her rear end and how she kept feeling a draft!  After a very uncomfortable dinner with our waitress leaning over every chance she had to serve food to my husband, she actually announced in front of my daughter and I that if he were to stay or come back around 9 pm that “Marilyn  Monroe”  would be performing a tease for the gentleman patrons.  As we left, feeling quite disgusted we stopped by Walgreen’s to notice more scantily clad girls some around eight or nine years old, painted with makeup and ripped fishnets, pushed up fake cleavage and all.

I share this story so that perhaps I can make a plea.  A plea to any young lady that may be reading this:

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, for the sake of Fathers, Brothers, and Sons everywhere, PLEASE do not use Halloween as an excuse to portray yourself in a manner you wouldn’t every other day of the year.  PLEASE dress modestly.

And a plea to parents who may be reading this:

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, for the sake of your daughters, do not let them out of the house on Halloween flaunting something that you most definitely don’t want them giving away!

I realize that it is hard to find modest costumes these days.  Scanning the Walgreen’s ad recently I noticed that even they have a wide selection of what years ago would only be found in a lingerie boutique.  Make your costume, find things around the house to use, wear long underwear underneath your costume- goodness knows it is nippy out anyway!  Or not celebrating at all is an option.  Host a movie night with some friends and drink apple cider, or come to my house for pity’s sake and we can play board games and munch on popcorn in celebration of Reformation Day!

Thank you.

 

3 Responses to “A Halloween Dinner and a Plea”

  1. •Betty• Says:

    Oh my goodness, I couldn’t have said it better myself. I completely agree with you. These younger girls now a days are allowed to wear whatever they feel like wearing. If we had a little girl we would make her change before leaving the house, and she would know better then to try to wear outfits like that. Sounds like your trip to Applebee’s was a nightmare, I am so sorry to hear that. We will make sure to stay away from there on Halloween, thanks for the tip!
    I really enjoyed reading our blog.
    Feel free to check out my hubby’s blog.
    http://thejoereview.com/2008/10/26/back-to-nature/

  2. jermandkate Says:

    amen

  3. Betty Says:

    My husband posted a slideshow of some of our Halloween pics up. come by & check it out.
    http://thejoereview.com/2008/11/02/halloween-08-slideshow/
    Would love to hear from you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

