Weeping Cherries

faith, family, food and frugality

Tales From the Home Keeper November 20, 2008

Filed under: Home — Jen @ 10:24 am
Tags: ,

Ara around 3-4 months old.

“I’m So Frustrated” and a Lesson in Patience

Recently, Aralyn got new bunk beds from her Mimi. (Pictures below) One night, I told her that Mimi was going to bring them over tomorrow and she fell asleep very excited with visions of bunk beds dancing in her head. The next morning I find her pacing her room exclaiming, “I’m so frustrated! I’m so frustrated!”. I ask her why she is frustrated and she says, “Its tomorrow and my bunk beds aren’t here!” We talk about how sometimes we have to be patient and that good things are worth waiting for but as I talk to her I feel very guilty.

You see, the night before I was trying to get some soothing music to play during dinner and our cd player wouldn’t work. It is really old and works about 3 out of 10 times you try to use it. After about that many attempts I remember making an exasperated sigh and Ara asking me what was the matter. I said, “I’m so frustrated! This cd player NEVER works! All I want is some calming music to play!” Now, I could have turned on the classical station or played the cd through Paul’s DVD system (though it confuses me and would probably take just as long to figure out) but I wanted the music I had picked out and when I wanted it. My words quickly popped into my head as I heard them coming out of my two year old.

It made me think about if I model patience for her. I would say when it comes to discipline and her occasional “moods” I do but there are many times I model impatience.

For example, on grocery day I have my shoes on, purse in hand and Ara dressed with shoes on ready to hit the road the second Paul gets home from work. This wouldn’t be a bad thing except that I know full well that Paul likes to unwind a bit after work before going out again. I, however; have been cooped up in the house all day ready to spring the coop. I am impatient listing in my head reasons why we need to go right then (some which are valid but most which don’t really matter) quietly stewing because I wish we could just be on our way. I don’t set a very good example in situations like these of what it means to be patient.

Thursdays are grocery days for us which means today is grocery day and I am hoping by typing this I will remind myself to have a patient heart when it comes to that time of day. Help keep me accountable and ask me how I did on Fridays if you think about it. πŸ™‚

And now the bunk bed pictures:

bunkbeds2

bunkbeds3

bunkbeds4

Side note: My husband jokingly informed me that my title: Tales from the Home Keeper is not the least bit clever when I told him that I was trying for a play on words off :Tales from the Crypt Keeper. He said it is just Tales from the Crypt not Tales from the Crypt Keeper and so it isn’t funny.

So, I apologize for my lack of humorous title but I like it, so it will remain Tales from the Home Keeper and will fill a new slot on Thursdays where I blog about what God is teaching me through my daughter. This will replace What’s Cookin’ Wednesdays for a while since my hubby has been scheduled lots of double shifts on Wednesdays and Ara and I eat a bit lighter those days as a result.

 

2 Responses to “Tales From the Home Keeper”

  1. Jo Ann Says:

    I like the title, it made me chuckle when I saw it. And dare I say, I think it’s witty… πŸ˜‰ I knew what it meant for what it’s worth.

  2. Jen Says:

    Thanks Jo Ann! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

