Weeping Cherries

faith, family, food and frugality

Tales from the HomeKeeper December 18, 2008

ara-leaves

Now, I realize that as her Mama I have the tendency to think that my child is a genius no matter what comes out of her mouth; however, my two year old said something that made me smile so big yesterday that I had to share.

Ara: Mama, are you eating soup like me?

(Ara is eating chicken soup- I am eating mushroom with rice noodles)

Me: I Am eating soup, but I’m eating a different soup.

Ara: Does yours have chicken in it like mine does?

Me: Nope mine has mushrooms.

Ara thinks.

“Well, if you were expectin’ chicken- I bet you’re disappointed.”

Now I didn’t realize that my daughter understood expectations or disappointment so I ask her, “How did you know that?”

Ara: “Like, remember when you expect me to be a good girl and I am mean and you are disappointed?”

πŸ™‚ You know what that means? When she is in trouble, she listens to what I am saying AND understands it! πŸ™‚ Happy Mama!

She continues saying many other things, many don’t make sense at all but every once in a while my child says something that blows my socks off and I realize, she’s listening! This makes everything worthwhile!

Now if only I could get what I tell her about potty training to click πŸ˜‰

 

3 Responses to “Tales from the HomeKeeper”

  1. Gladys Gunn Says:

    Hi Jenny,
    Your grandma is so excited to be seeing you and Ara this coming week. That’s what has kept her going through the Holidays. This first one will be the hardest, but I’m sure being with family, especially Ara, will get her through. Jen and I try very hard to fill in her time and needs.
    Such a cute pictue of Ara, and such a nice writing by you. Keep up the good work, and may all of you be blessed during the season that we celebrate our dear Lord’s coming to earth to be our sacrifice, so that we may spend eternity with Him. Love, Gladys

  2. Jen Says:

    Gladys,
    Hugs to you and Jenny for all you do for my Grandma. I know she misses my Granddad dearly.
    I just wish Missouri and Florida weren’t so far apart; then we could be there every weekend :).
    We couldn’t be more excited to see Grandma next week!
    Merry Christmas to you all!

    Jen

  3. Very nice picture. I can read her face and I am sure she got the sign of child genius. God Bless.

    Merry Christmas to you all!


Leave a Reply

