Weeping Cherries

faith, family, food and frugality

2009 Book List January 5, 2009

Filed under: Home,Media Review,Seasons — Jen @ 4:27 pm
Tags:

Inspired by Jess’ book list for 2009,  I decided to steal two books of her “to read” list and post my own list.  So here it is, though I’m sure it will grow as the months go by:

*An Excellent Wife by Martha Peace

*Becoming a Woman of Discretion: Cultivating a Pure Heart in a Sensual World by Nancy Leigh DeMoss

*Dumbing Down our Kids: Why American Children Feel Good About Themselves but Can’t Read, Write or Add by Charles Sykes

*Faithful Women and Their Extraordinary God by Noel Piper

*Family Integrated Church by J. Mark Fox

*Marriage to a Difficult Man: The Uncommon Union of Jonathan and Sarah Edwards by Elizabeth Dodds

*Mother by Kathleen Norris

*Proverbs for Parenting: A Topical Guide for Child Raising from the Book of Proverbs by Barbara Decker

*Raising Maidens of Virtue by Stacy McDonald

*Survival for Busy Women by Emilie Barnes (I laugh at the fact that I am going to read this because I am anything but busy; however, I hear it has great organizational tips)

*Teach them Diligently: How to Use Scriptures in Child Training by Louis Paul Priolo

*The 15 Minute Organizer by Emilie Barnes

*The Ever-Loving Truth: Can Faith Thrive in a Post-Christian Culture by Voddie Bauchaum Jr.

*The Marketing of Evil: How Radicals, Elitists, and Pseudo-Experts Sell Us Corruption Disguised as Freedom by David Kupelian

*The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan

*The Voice of Matthew by Lauren F. Winner

*When You Rise Up: A Covenantal Approach to Homeschooling by RC Sproul

Children’s Books with Ara for 2009:

Black Beauty by Anna Sewell

Dick and Jane– Early Reader by William S. Gray

Heidi by Johanna Spyri

Teach Them to Your Children by Sarah Wean

The Princess and the Kiss by Jennie Bishop

The Secret Garden by Francis Hodgson Burnett

I will try to do some reviews as I go along.  What is on your 2009 bookshelf?

 

2 Responses to “2009 Book List”

  1. Alison Says:

    Hi Jen! I just came across your blog a couple weeks ago and am so impressed with your frugality…a trait that I am trying to learn and apply. I was looking over your book list I thought I would mention an excellent book that I recently read that you might enjoy: Created to be His Help Meet by Debi Pearl (www.nogreaterjoy.org).

    Happy reading! 🙂

    Alison

  2. Jen Says:

    Thanks Alison. I actually oen and have read Created to be His Help Meet. My husband is the definition of a “Visionary” man so the book was very enlightening in that area. Thanks for the suggestion and welcome to Weeping Cherries!

    Jen


Leave a Reply

