Weeping Cherries

faith, family, food and frugality

Tales from the Home Keeper February 5, 2009

p1010815

Ara playing in the most recent snow we received.

Last Saturday was my birthday and we spent it at my parent’s house doing all sorts of fun things including shopping for sewing patterns and material for some new dresses and skirts for Ara and I.  It was a blast but I had to share a story with you of something Ara said that still gives me the giggles when I think about it.  For clarity, Ara calls my Mom Mimi. Mimi and Ara are reading a book about horses and the conversation goes something like this:

Mimi: Ara look at these brown horses.  I like the Thoroughbreds.

Ara: I like cornbread. 🙂

cornbread

Cornbread is a favorite in our house, can you tell? 🙂  Here is a gluten free recipe that we like:

Jen’s Gluten Free Cornbread

1 c. Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free Flour

1 c. Yellow Cornmeal

1/3 c. Sugar

1/3 c. Brown Sugar

1 tsp. Salt

3 1/2 tsp. Baking Powder

1 Egg

1 c. Milk

1/3 c. Melted Butter

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Butter the sides of a round pie dish.  In a large bowl, soak cornmeal in the milk for 10-15 minutes.  Then add gf flour, sugar, salt and baking powder.  Stir in egg and butter until well combined.  Pour batter in pie dish.  Bake for approx. 20-25 minutes.  Enjoy!  Wonderful served with honey butter.

 

2 Responses to “Tales from the Home Keeper”

  1. thegoodsbeautifulnoise Says:

    That’s too cute Jen! That recipe looks great! We love cornbread here too. 🙂

  2. Nancy Says:

    I love that story! I hope Ara feels better… I’m praying for her!
    -Nancy
    Oh! I have a blog now! 🙂


Leave a Reply

